Notices

The first day of the rest of my life

Old 05-12-2009, 10:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
13 May 2009

The first day of the rest of my life

Today is my first day sober, in yet another attempt at sobriety, I have tried and failed twice before, I was sober for 7 months and then the last time only 2 months. The good news is that I have only fallen off the wagon for 4 months and I desperately want to stop again.

I hate alcohol, I hate who I am when I am drunk, I hate the fact I have no control over it, I hate waking up with a hangover ( 4 days out of 7), I hate my behaviour, I hate humilating myself, I hate the fights, I hate what it is doing to my looks and my health, I hate what I have allowed myself to become.

I am a 36 year old business owner and wife and mother, I am the secret drinker, the equivilant of the house wife with the bottle of vodka in the vacum cleaner. By day a successful business woman, by night a drunk. Normally publically I can keep it under control, I am very strict, however this does not alway work and i have blow-outs, the worst part is that I have black-outs and can very rarely remember anything that happened, I am just left with my husband who picks up all the pieces.

I feel very ashamed of my addiction, I am an alcoholic, I have never really dealt with the reality of it before, its always been just one more drink, just one more night...No more

I am looking forward to being the best I can possibly be. I know I will have challenges and physical withdrawals but I am ready for the challenge and if I fall over I am going to keep going, hopefully with the help of this site.
Old 05-12-2009, 10:33 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Good luck in getting sober. You sound similar to my type of alcoholism. With me it isn't a secret. They know my name at the ABC store, all my family and friends know and I get drunk and tell people all kinds of stuff. I just don't remember most things i've told them. I'm lucky someone hasn't killed me.
Old 05-12-2009, 10:37 PM