Notices

First day

Old 04-21-2009, 09:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First day

I have decided that today I am not drinking. My only time of sobriety has been when I was pregnant and a few weeks here and there on special diets. My drinking has now turned into 2 bottles of wine every night, and I can barely get out of bed to take my daughter to daycare and get to work.
I am a professional single Mom of a 4 year old. I have not hit rock bottom as I own a home, a car and I am debt free. But I can see that the drinking is progressing, and I do not want my daughter to grow up watching me drink.
Do AA meetings really work? I am embarrassed to go to a meeting and have a lot anxiety about going. Can I do this on my own?
Old 04-21-2009, 09:21 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Brunie,

Welcome! And, yes alcoholism is a progressive disease, and you will get worse unless you stop.

I am glad you're seeking recovery. I am not an AA person, but it does work for many people. You can do this!
Old 04-21-2009, 09:27 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Thriving sober since 12/18/08

like anything else, AA works for people that put everything they can into it.. Think how much effort you've put into drinking, now put that into staying sober. When you have the support behind your committment to sobriety, I think most things can 'work'... seeing as how you're actually the one doing the work.
Old 04-21-2009, 09:27 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Yes you can do this on your own, it's just a bit easier to be travelling recovery road with friends. AA meetings can give good face to face support. Give it a try. YOu CAN do this! Welcome!:ghug3
Old 04-21-2009, 09:32 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Leap of Faith Survivor

Brunie, good for you! that is an important first step.
I want to start by saying that AA is not the only way...there are other ways...
I am an addict but I go to AA meetings..I am so inspired by what I see..