Notices

Im scared

Old 04-17-2009, 01:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Im scared

Hi all, as you may be aware i am a newbie and have recently acknowledged that i have an addiction with alcohol. I made a commitment to myself not to touch a drop today. Its only 9.23am (UK time) and already i have the shakes, my heart feels like its going to pop out of my chest, and i feel so hot and sweaty. How long will this last for???? I scared that my commitment will be overpowerd for my craving. Any ideas guys would be appreciated.
Old 04-17-2009, 01:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm terrified too. But that's all I can say; I know nothing. You're not alone. I just realized I have a problem also...
Old 04-17-2009, 02:02 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

footprint, it is wise to talk to your doctor before quitting. If the withdrawls you are going through are bad please go to the ER.
Old 04-17-2009, 02:04 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I mentioned in your last thread about a medically supervised detox, footprints....I am suggesting it again. Just stopping dead is dangerous. I really would advise talking to your Doc, and from what you have said before he is perfect for your situation.
Old 04-17-2009, 02:19 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

With proper medical help, you should be feeling "normal' again in 3 or 4 days.
But then the real work begins.....
Good luck.

Advice is like castor oil, easy to give, but dreadful to take."
Old 04-17-2009, 02:32 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!

Please listen to Stone, get to a doctor now!!!! I am not a doctor, but I can tell you from my own experience that what you are going through now is going to get worse before it gets better!

I was medically detoxed so my detox was not horrible, but about half way through the 3rd day was when I was at my worse, they had to up all of the meds they had me on to keep me from going into the DTs.