Notices

Newly 21 --Hopeless & Desperate. Please help.

Old 03-05-2009, 01:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Newly 21 --Hopeless & Desperate. Please help.

Wow...well...where do I even start? I really don't know why I googled to find a site like this..I guess mainly because no one (except my mom, thank God), FULLY understands what I have gone through in the last 5 years. I will start by saying I am a 21 year old female. I am a bright student, a loyal friend, and I have a very outgoing personallity. Why I have chosen to make alcohol a part of my life? I'm not really quite sure. Maybe it's because of the fact that where I am from, it is almost socially unacceptable to be a sober person? I really don't know. I could probably write a book here right now but I will just introduce myself by saying this. I just turned 21, started drinking when I was 16...I am not an alcoholic, in fact, I know PLENTY of people my age who drink way way more often than I do; however, I am an alcohol abuser. No one seems to understand me. All I ever get is..."you just have to know your limits"..I want to say, yeah ya idiot i realize that, it's sticking to them that I cannot do. Over the last 5 years of my life, I can honestly say about 95 percent of my problems/hardships have been a result of alcohol. I do not crave alcohol but I cannot stick to my limits. It is a constant problem. It causes me SO MUCH stress, anxiety, depression, etc. I do many things I regret and am SO hard on myself for them. I am tired of having bad things in my life happen when they could be avoided. My grandpa was a severe alcoholic and my 24 year old sister has had her struggles as well, and now has been sober for over a year (I am so proud of her). Basically, I am just here to find some support and understanding. I KNOW there are other people out there LIKE ME. WHAT PEOPLE DON'T UNDERSTAND IS....WITH AN ALCOHOL ABUSER, IT IS ALL or NOTHING. I cannot even begin to tell you the details of what I have been through over t