SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   I Have To Get Blood Work Done, Im Scared (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/170234-i-have-get-blood-work-done-im-scared.html)

cmb 02-24-2009 05:37 PM

I Have To Get Blood Work Done, Im Scared

I went to the docs today and have to get blood work done. I have To get tested for Hep A B C and HIV along with annual blood work Im really scared because I started shooting up 6 months ago. Ive never shared a needle but I have used the same water, spoon, and cotton as people who have Hep C. Im not sure if you can contract it this way but im scared. If you have any words of encouragement I could really use them right now Thanks For Everything:dunno

jch116 02-24-2009 05:42 PM

I feel for you, I remember once getting tested for HIV after dating someone I hadn't known was a IV drug user. The waiting is the hardest part. I don't know too much about the transmission of Hep C but I know that blood to blood is the most common contact. Good luck to you and try not to drive yourself crazy worrying about it. The good news is that you will probably be fine and then you will never have to worry about it again if it comes out clean, if you really want to quit. Keep posting, there are a lot of good people who are here for support.. it's helped me tremendously.

C23 02-24-2009 05:43 PM

CMB, I really don't have any experience here, but all I can say is that I think it is better to go to the doctor and get tested for anything that may be possible so it can be treated. God willing, everything comes back fine and you will use this as motivation to never use. We are all here for you if you need to talk. Welcome to SR.

cmb 02-24-2009 05:53 PM