Notices

RE: Jason2748 Intro

Old 02-17-2009, 05:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

RE: Jason2748 Intro

Hello Everyone! I am new to SR, so please forgive me if I get tangled in the threads and postings. I am trying to learn how to use this site as I go, so I thank you for your patience in advance.

My brief history: I completed an out-patient program in August last year, and stayed sober through November. then relapsed just one night. Now for the past several months I have gone a week or two with no drinking and then out of the blue I will hit the bottle for just one night. Trouble is the nights are beginning to come closer together.

I also struggle with the AA philosophy and program like many of you, and even though I went to many different meeting groups while I was going through the out-patient program I was not able to find my own level of comfort with the AA folks in my area. I read the big book, and believe in my higher power. I am also a pretty social person so I am not sure why I struggle so with the AA ideals and program.

Any how, I found SR this past weekend, and I am going to give it a whirl. So far I like what I see. Hopefully, like most things in life, I will get back what I give. Thanks! Jason2748
Old 02-17-2009, 05:54 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Jason,

Welcome,

I'm glad you found us.

There are other ways to recover than using AA. Many people here use AA and it works for them, but many people use different recovery programs. For me, SR is my lifeline, and has been for years.

Keep reading and posting.
Old 02-17-2009, 06:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Jason, I think you'll find SR an invaluable help to ya..I have.

Peace...look forward to your thoughts and posts.
Old 02-17-2009, 06:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome Jason. I think SR has been more help to me than AA so far because it's here anytime I need it. Stick around.
Old 02-17-2009, 06:26 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome to SR Jason.