Notices

I desperately need help

Old 01-28-2009, 02:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I desperately need help

Hi there! I am incredibly scared for my health and my life and I have no idea what to do. I started binge drinking in college and suddenly it turned into drinking vodka alone in my room for the past 3 years. currently I am studying in Australia and since ive been here for 14 days, ive had a liter of vodka every single day. Every day i keep telling myself that I will never drink again, bc my body is feeling horrible! but the withdrawals are too much to handle! the doctor here won't give me any medicine and my insurance doesn't cover a detox program. what can i do? what can i do to help the withdrawals? if i slowly cut down the drinking patterns and then stop the drinking all together would that work for the withdrawals? PLEASE help me im suffering here by myself and i am really scared.
Old 01-28-2009, 03:09 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi muwel, welcome to SR. Detoxing alone can be very dangerous, even deadly. You really need some medical help. Why not go to the ER, if the hospitals there are like the ones here they cant turn you away just because you cant pay for treatment. Im praying for you.
Old 01-28-2009, 03:24 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

If your insurance covers hospitals, that's what I would do. It is best to detox in a medical setting where they can monitor you. There are things that could go wrong.

That's a really scary place to be. You need help and don't know how to get it for yourself. It's one thing when people are telling you "get help" and when you're the one telling yourself to do it, it seems like there's nothing out there.

Have you tried talking to a school counselor? Is there anyone there that you can talk to that would honor your privacy.

I hope this all works out for you. Good luck!!
Old 01-28-2009, 03:24 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by felly79 View Post