Notices

I can't believe I'm not drinking on a Saturday night.

Old 01-17-2009, 05:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I can't believe I'm not drinking on a Saturday night.

Hi all,

I'm not sure what to say, so I guess I'll just tell you how I came about to be posting on this board tonight.

I've been drinking for well over 20 years. I used to do it casually at parties and such, and then eventually I became a weekend warrior. I would put away about a case a day on Saturdays and Sundays, not to mention how much I drank on Fridays. I figured it was ok because I wasn't drinking during the week.

Then I convinced myself that the weekend actually starts on Thursday nights because Fridays are easy to handle hung over. I did that for years until I reached the point where I didn't feel all that bad on Friday mornings. So I figured I could have some beers on Monday while watching Monday Night Football. Before I knew it, I was drinking more than 10 beers every night. I've managed to be successful at work through it all somehow which kept me doing it.

I've been drinking every night like that for several years. I honestly can't remember the last time I didn't drink.

Over the past year and a half or so, I started to develop intention tremors. I ignored it because I knew what was at the heart of it, and I didn't want to stop drinking. People would notice it and I would lie to them saying that it happens when I drink caffeine. I would say that even if all I drank that day was water.

I finally had enough and knew I needed to turn my life and health around. A week ago last Thursday I finally went to a doctor. He gave me blood and urine tests. I knew what the results would eventually show, so I decided to make last weekend my last hurrah. I told myself that I would stop drinking on Sunday right after the Philadelphia Eagles game ended. I did. I haven't had a drink since.