Notices

I'm new here...

Old 12-04-2008, 06:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new here...

Hi everyone,
I'm new to the forum, but not new to the idea of wanting/needing to quit drinking...I have been drinking for many years and longest I went without beer was 3 months. I have been to AA meetings a couple of years ago and I think I only went about 8 times total.
I feel like I "sort of" hit rock bottom last night...I did drink and I drank alot. Well, I got to the point of sadness I almost wanted to die....literally wanted to not to be here anymore. It really scares me that I was near the point of thinking about it.
Just a month and a half ago both my husband lost our jobs, since then I have been drinking every other day. I feel so empty inside, he can't collect unemployment for another 5 weeks and no one has been calling him for a job interview. Next week, we are going to see a lawyer because we know that we are going to lose most of the things that we worked so hard for the past 18 years...so we have to file chapter 7.
The bill collectors are ringing our phone off the hook, I can't believe that we are in this situation. I used to get happy when I would put the little check marks next to the bills that were paid for the week.
We also have a motorcycle/scooter and we totally love riding together....plus we just bought a boat and only took it out twice and we are going to lose that as well. This month's bills are starting to roll in again and I still need $1000 to pay the lawyer to start our bankruptcy. I feel like I'm burning my candle at both ends.
I'm sorry that I sound like I'm having a pity party but I just need to talk about it. My poor hubby puts up with my up and down mood swings and he barely even drinks, so he really has no escape. He used to drink but not so much anymore, I'm so proud of him, I wish that I had control like that.