Notices

A new start

Old 11-22-2008, 05:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A new start

I found this forum after feeling ashamed walking home with 3 40 oz. malt liquor bottles (you gotta love my name) a few hours ago. Not even 7 a.m. It's my weekend off, and I vowed to do something better with my time. But I'm back to the same old crap. I'm an attractive dude, but completely bloated and ugly looking due to my addiction.

I'm a manager at a major retail chain, and came to work drunk yesterday. I could even tell my speech was slurred, and I think the beer was coming out of my pores. The frightening thing is, I went there, did my job perfectly, came home and drank more. They love me, but my alcoholism is becoming noticeable. And I have plans of going back to school to become a nurse, but I can't do it in this state. I just can't. What I'm doing now is not life or death, but handling patients is a whole other ordeal.

I've barely gone through my first bottle, but I can guarantee I'll go through the other two soon. I feel so damaged for only being 27.

I quit for 6 weeks a few months ago. Felt great. I woke up refreshed, wasn't tired, and I received so many compliments about how good I looked..... then I fell back into that awful hole. I look like hell, feel like hell, and know I must stop. I just don't know if I have the power...
Old 11-22-2008, 06:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
CindeRella is proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life!

Welcome to SR Steel! Glad that you found us and took the first step and admitted you have a problem

Now .....what are you going to do about it for yourself to "feel great, wake up refreshed, not be tired and look good again?" Have you gone to your Doctor? That could be a another step and possibly go to an AA Meeting?