Notices

a little bit about me...

Old 11-21-2008, 01:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Arrow a little bit about me...

alright, so when i posted my first thread yesterday, i really didn't say much about myself. so, here goes...

i have been struggling with an addiction to opiates, i.e. lortabs or other opiate based pain killers, for about a year. i first started taking them to help with my scoliosis, because i work as a cocktail waitress, which entails walking eight to ten miles a day with a ten to twenty pound tray. i began seeing a chiropractor, which helped with the back pain, but i continued to take the lortabs because they ensured i would be pain free at work, and they also gave me energy and made me feel great. but after a few months of taking them every day, i stopped having that happy feeling, and was just plain cranky and irritable. then i started crushing them up and snorting them. gross, i know. stupid, i know.

one day, i didn't have any lortabs, but i didn't think much of it. i felt like i was coming down with a cold, and ended up having to leave work for the night. i got more lortabs, and felt fine. then i ran out again and was sick for two days...sweating, yawning, chills, runny nose and watery eyes. then i realized what was happening: i was going through withdrawals. every time i ran out of pills, i would have to call in sick to work. i tried quitting cold turkey, but just couldn't handle being sick. so i kept taking them, thinking "this time, instead of taking one, i'll only take half. i'll taper myself off". it never happened. eventually, it went from taking one during an eight hour shift, to taking 3 to 4 10mg lortabs in a shift. i was taking 5-8 a day.

then, my electricity got cut off. i had no money to pay my bills. i was working every day to cover the cost of my addiction, and i felt completely worthless. i didn't want to go to rehab because i didn't want my boyfriend to know how serious the problem had become. but i was running out of options.