Notices

I have to stop

Old 11-05-2008, 08:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I have to stop

Hi,

First post here. I have been drinking almost daily for the past 9 years (don't think I ever took a whole week off) and taking painkillers for the last 4 years and I have to stop. I'll drink 8 to 10 drinks a night, starting while I'm driving home some nights, and take whatever perscription pain meds I can get my hands on.

What kicked me into this cycle was a torn ACL and repair that lead me to have a degenerative/arthritic knee which made me give up judo, a sport that I was put on this earth to do/participate in. I've tried to replace judo with other things but it never works out. I started drinking to escape I think and now I'm hooked. To not drink for a few days is tough. On weekends I'll make several stops @ the liquor store. It's messed up.

The thing that put me over the edge is last night I came home after work and after another Dr apt @ lunch to drain my f---ed up knee and get an injection of an oily substance to lubricate the knee. I'm only 41. I always get pissed when I have to take the needle. My girl wasn't home so i took a vicodin, had 5 beers and 1/2 bottle of wine. Now she came home a couple of hours later to find me all messed up. My ****** habbit is the only thing that causes problems between us and I honestly feel that she is the absolutey the best thing that ever happened to me and I'm going to screw this up too (like my 9 year marriage that ended 2 years ago) if I don't stop.

I have messed up my life with alcohol - I have to stop it!

That's my story.
Old 11-05-2008, 08:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I'm glad you found us!