Notices

4th day of not drinking

Old 10-09-2008, 07:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

4th day of not drinking

I'm a 25 yo veteran who realized I am starting to have a real dependence on alcohol. I'm a college student right now with a fiance who lives in Italy. I've had more than a couple of bad experiences about my drinking with her mostly when we are far apart. I've been drinking heavily for 8 years starting in the military and transitioning with me into the civilian life. I spent a year in Iraq and got in the best shape of my life only to return to another fiance who left me a week before I got back. So PTSD and depression set in and I got out of the military about 6 months later without any help. But, before I got out I met the wonderful girl I am with now.

I was drinking anywhere from 14-20 beers a night and 3/4 liter of liquor on the weekend days. I am a functional alcoholic (4.0 GPA, health professions student/pre-med) and I am currently just going to school and living off my GI Bill.

My main problem with alcohol is blacking out about 3 times a week and waking up not remembering when I fell to sleep. I'll pass out and not call my fiance and of course that causes problems as the long distance relationship is reliant on communication. On the weekends I'll black out 5 or 6 hours of the night, this past saturday night I had drink about a liter of scotch and had around 10 beers and blacked out for a good portion of a night in Austin with a friend.

I'm tired of this way of life but on this day I can feel that I do have a real dependance on alcohol. I just do not know what to do if I am not drinking. When does this feeling go away?

Thanks for reading my long ass first post.
Old 10-09-2008, 07:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)