Notices

Don't really want to quit, body making me slow down.

Old 10-07-2008, 06:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Don't really want to quit, body making me slow down.

OK, new here, I have been reading the forums for about a month, just signed up.
This might be a little long and will take me a while to word it.
I am mid 40's now and have been drinking constantly since College, not a lot eariler 4-5 beers/night (understand this may be a lot to some). But when I graduated I found a love for wine, and initially drank 2-3 glasses a day with dinner etc..

About 10 years ago I did pick-up the pace a lot and now up to 6-8 glasses of wine a night, I wake up with a hangover about once a month(usually after a dinner party), I do know I am an alcoholic, but it has never interferred with my life, no DUI's, arrest's, spousal abuse, financial, work related etc...

About 3 years ago after drinking a lot at a resort in Cancun and getting rather sick from the drinking, I noticed a feeling in my liver area getting heavy, at worst it was just a nuisance and did not bother me too much. However earlier this summer it started to bother me, some days it was hard to sit in a car, felt slight nausea and lost little weight. I knew it was the drinking.

I went to the doctor (he knows about my wine habit) and all liver panel tests look good and even had a liver sonogram done, slight fatty deposits.

In early September I decided to stop drinking for a while, went 11 days without drinking and I have to say not as bad as some of the other reports I have read on this forum. Mostly insommnia, a few night sweats and worst of all boredom!
I did get a script for ambiem from my Doc the 2nd day and that took care of the insommnia. The uncomfortable feeling in my Liver area did go away while I did not drink. I have been drinking the last few weeks and it has returned.