Notices

Question

Old 09-21-2008, 01:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question

I visited my boyfriend in rehab with my children yesterday. He said that he is leaving there tomorrow because he needs his family there behind him and wants to do outpatient treatments. Has anyone ever did this before and does it work?!?
Old 09-21-2008, 01:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience with that, but I think any kind of program can work for you, if you want it to work.
Old 09-21-2008, 02:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
IO Storm

Dear Luvs..

I see by your ?!? punctuation you truly are disturbed by his choice and

are not sure how to support him...

My opinion? Inpatient as long as possible.

This was my personal experience..my insurance ran out after two weeks,

and I had to leave. I wanted to stay..

My BF (at the time) left early and went to a store to buy booze.

Everyone is different.

Is outpatient ready and available immediately upon release?

Is your BF leaving against medical advice?

Arm yourself with the facts..and you will be better able to offer

support and/or tough love in this situation.

Good luck!

Hugs
Old 09-21-2008, 02:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

IO summed it up the best. If he is committed, he will do what he to do.
Everyone IS different. As long as he is not leaving against medical medice to the contrary, and he keeps with outpatient appointments, and remains committed to sobriety (I know, there are an awful lot of 'ands' there), perhaps being at home with his loved ones is just what he needs.
All my blessings to he and you.
Please let us know how things are going. Also, have you checked the Familly and Friends forums?

All my best.
BHJ
Old 09-21-2008, 02:41 PM
  # 5 (permalink)