Notices

Hi, I'm New Here, Just Introducing Myself

Old 09-13-2008, 11:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi, I'm New Here, Just Introducing Myself

I hope that I am posting in the right place.

I am new to recovery, I have been sober (intentionally and voluntarily) since August 1, 2008. Of course, a crisis brought me to realize that I have to stop drinking (at least for now, maybe forever).

I know I should say forever, but it just is too scary and makes me feel too deprived to say I will never drink again, so I will just say that I wish to abstain from drinking and that I don't know if I will ever drink again. (I don't know, that's the truth).

It's been six weeks and it seems like since I made a conscious decison to stop drinking I think about it a lot.

I started going to AA meetings on the 4th of August, at the time I walked in I was totally repulsed by myself, my behaviour, and the trouble I caused myself. Now, after just six weeks sober, I am craving drinks (the Vodka Martini is my obsession), and I am online here looking to share because I am uncomfortable calling anyone from the meetings this late at night, but this was my prime drinking time.

I am reminding myself of how humiliated and embarassed and depressed I was after my last drunk, which resulted in a big mess in my life.

Over the last six weeks I have been going back over my life, I am 46 years old, and with the exceptions of when I carried and nursed my two children, I was always a drinker, in the early years, not heavy, it didn't take much, but I rarely had good results or fun, yet I kept on drinking.

It seems that my resentments or hurt or angry feelings boil up inside me and at a certain point of my drunkenness they come out like vomit all over whoever it is I am with at the time. I have said a lot of mean things over hurts that are real and also "imagined" over the years.