Notices

Has anyone else tried sleeping pills?

Old 09-05-2008, 10:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Dismember

Has anyone else tried sleeping pills?

I am a little over two weeks in and I'm still having the hardest time getting and staying asleep. When I do sleep it seems like I'm dreaming the whole night (a sign of not being in full sleep, I think.) I've been feeling tired and light-headed all day long and I'm worried this lack of sleep is starting to be physically and mentally harmful to me.

I hate the idea of taking sleeping pills, and pills in general, but I'm worried the lack of good sleep is a higher cost than taking an over-the-counter. Has anyone else found they work for the insomnia of post-withdrawal?
Old 09-05-2008, 10:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I am not good with sleeping pills or allergy pills. I feel like I've taken a heavy sedative even the next morning. I have been drinking coffee before bed and it definitely is messing with my early sleep. But I have been sleeping better in the early morning hours which is a complete flip flop from where it was before. I'd usually pass out on wine easily and then wake up at 2am and just flip flop.
Old 09-05-2008, 10:27 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Lack of sleep can be physically and mentally harmful. If the insomnia continues I would suggest you talk with your doctor. Insomnia can be a result of withdrawl, but can also be an underlying problem that is seperate from that.

Until you feel more rested please use care about driving, operating dangerous equipment (includes garbage disposals and hot pots and pans). Slow thinking and reactions can cause very bad accidents.

:ghug3
Old 09-05-2008, 10:30 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
things as it is

Back in the day, it was recommended that if you can't fall asleep, read the Big Book.

(Just a little levity...ananda gave some sage advice.)
Old 09-05-2008, 10:35 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Dismember