Notices

Writing and Alcoholism?

Old 08-14-2008, 12:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Writing and Alcoholism?

I have often wondered about the connection between writers and alcoholism, and wondered if anyone had any thoughts?
I am by no means a professional writer, but it is something I like to do and I am planning on submitting a book I'm writing for a contest coming up this winter. I have also noticed alot of people here on SR seem to like to write as well - so I just wanted to know what you all thought of the connection between the two.
Some of my favorite writers: Anne Rice, Stephen King, Ernest Hemingway, and Marguerite Duras (just to name a few) all struggled with alcoholism and I know there are many more I could add to the list

Any Thoughts???
Old 08-14-2008, 01:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey Jen,

Good luck with your book and contest! I haven't noticed any connection between writers and alcoholism, however I am not a writer. I do see connections elswhere. Bariatric surgery (I had it) Heriditary, environment etc..
I will be curious to see some responses later.
As a writer I think you will enjoy this article I read this morning..

And the winner of the worst writing of 2008 is ... - CNN.com

(You might have to copy and paste this link).

Heavy
Old 08-14-2008, 01:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Oscar Wild said something like most people train their minds to behave, writers train their miinds to misbehave.

Stephen king said writing should come secondary to living, as he was an alcoholic.

I'm not sure about it all really.
Old 08-14-2008, 01:36 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Truman Capote

F. Scott Fitzgerald
Old 08-14-2008, 01:41 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Dylan Thomas

William Faulkner

Tennessee Williams

Edgar Allen Poe

James Joyce

Jack Kerouac
Old 08-14-2008, 01:47 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Thanks Heavy! thats awesome... i had no idea such a contest existed! i bet i can come up with some lousy opening lines - lol!
Old 08-14-2008, 01:49 PM