Notices

Vop

Old 08-15-2008, 11:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Vop

I VOP for curfew and i have a lawyer who wants me to pay him 2500.00 to represent me in this voilation My question really is do you think this matters. If her represents me will the outcome be different..? I have a job i've had for over 3 yrs. I have never VOP on anything but this curfew .. And i will have my drug and alkie class's done the night my court day is.. (is the last day of my classs)

??????????? I just dont want to waste the money

Old 08-15-2008, 11:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Did you talk to your PO?
Old 08-15-2008, 11:22 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have a new PO the one that VOPed me is gone

She said that the lawyer wont make a difference the judge is going to say yes or no ..

There is no deal to make or anything like that correct>?? so i really don't need him?
Old 08-15-2008, 11:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am not a lawyer, so i cannot give advice. The reson I asked if you had spoken to your PO was to see what he/she said about it....
Old 08-15-2008, 12:07 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Sorry, you said you never vop on anything but this curfew. You did it. What would your job do if you violated a work rule?
Old 08-15-2008, 12:26 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

PUt me on probation.. Im just wondering if anyone else has VOPed I was just wondering if my lawyer is going to make a big difference..
Old 08-15-2008, 07:04 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

I VOP'd, but I was on a first offender status and was locked up for almost 6 months (this was 3 years ago). Most of the people I know who VOP end up doing at least some time in county jail.

I don't know about the lawyer...I do know of several people WITH lawyers where it didn't make a difference. I'm still on probation but haven't violated it because #1 - I'm in recovery and don't do the stupid stuff I did, and #2 - I really, really don't like jail.

Hugs and prayers!

Amy
Old 08-15-2008, 07:10 PM
  # 8 (permalink)  

Mike,