Notices

Still not sober, newbie here

Old 08-08-2008, 08:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Still not sober, newbie here

My name is Kevynne Anne, I'm 37 and I am new by about three days. I had my first drink when I was eleven, my first cigarette when I was eight and my first hit when I was eighteen. I've been drinking three to four heavy whiskey drinks every night since I can't even remember plus using as well. I came here because I know that I finally need to get clean and sober but am still too scared and still in denial. I feel like I was never meant to be an "alcoholic" and that my life was not supossed to turn out this way. I feel ashamed and scared and embarassed especially since my drinking problem was brought to attention by one of my profs., he smelled alcohol on my breath during a nine thirty A.M. class. So then I had to get my profs. involved which was even more shameful and embarassing and now I feel like if I don't sober up by Aug. 26th when school starts, then I will let them all down because they were really good to me. I just don't want to be seen as a failure which is how I feel right now. I doesn't help that my husband is a heavy drinker and there is always alcohol in the house. I'm too scared to go to meetings and am thankful that I at least have SR as a good starting place. Thanx to all for listening!
Old 08-08-2008, 08:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Welcome! Glad you are here! You are not alone! I understand how you feel. Keep posting/sharing.
Old 08-08-2008, 09:04 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Black and Yellow

Nobody was MEANT to be an alcoholic or an addict. Why are you afraid to go to meetings? I have been clean for 62 days and meetings are a big part of my sobriety. You CAN do this if YOU really want to! Keep posting and reading here at SR, it has saved my a$$ several times!
Old 08-08-2008, 09:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
I got nothin'