Notices

Quit O' Clock.

Old 07-29-2008, 10:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quit O' Clock.

Morning all,

It's always tricky working out where to begin. I've been drinking fairly heavily for the past two years. Or is it three? Four? Anyway, the past two years at least, I haven't had a single day without a drink.
So, about two years ago I found that a glass or two of Sauvignon Blanc would send me straight to sleep, which I loved. having been an insomniac for roughly ten years, it was too tempting to pass up.
After a short while, it turned into a whole bottle a night, then two.

I make little attempt to hide my alcoholism, and I have told many of my friends and family. It's never been hard for me to tell the truth.

Unfortunately, I rather like alcohol. I have a great respect for a well made and well though out cocktail, and I see nearly every single malt whisky as a work of art. If I go out to a bar, I would happily spend what would be a third of the average persons weekly income, and this happens most nights.
Alcohol also seems to fuel and inspire my writing, and having two successful books published so far, it is hard for me to let it go.

I would however love to stop. I cannot sleep any more than three hours a night, usually less. I drink when I wake up. Sometimes I shake so much I can't even use a fork. I can't even try to be social without a few behind me. I simply cannot function without alcohol anymore. My father died from alcohol when I was six, and I'm going down the same path. I'm not living long like this.

But where do I start?

I am currently very far away from my home, friends, and family in Australia. I've been traveling this world for roughly six months and it'll probably be another six months before I make my way back home. Staying in hotels and hostels alone would make it difficult to quit, and being alone in a foreign country makes the notion much harder. If I quit anytime soon, I'll be doing it alone.