Notices

newcomer to recovery. plz read

Old 06-23-2008, 01:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
dru

newcomer to recovery. plz read

Hello. Wonderful group of people here.

I am starting my sober life today. i have been doing opiates / pain killers for about 2-3 years now. I have been sober for a day considering i smoked some marijuana yesterday for NO reason.

i was doing about starting off at 6 percocets a day.. 3 at a time. then gradually went up to 5 at a time. then 6 at a time.

i also did vicodin when i wasnt able to get ahold of percocets.

i was spending $800/mth on pills.

i almost ruined my marriage , my life and almost lost my best friend, my wife.

i stole from family , including prescription pain meds and money to get them.

i want to quit, i understand my problem / issues. I just need to find a free support group like a 12 step program around my area cincinnati, ohio. I make decent money but cant afford to spend that much on a program due to moving and buying new furniture.

currently my wife had me close my bank account and start depositing my checks into hers, i agreed to do so and have been for the past 2-3 months. she knows when i use the card.

i have alot of triggers but dont know how to keep them surpressed or stop.

i love my wife dearly and my family. I dont want to continue on this path, and i want to live a normal happy christian life.

What are some suggestions / comments please!
Old 06-23-2008, 01:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Dru,

Welcome. Ithought i'd pass on a couple links, this one is your area Narcotics Anonymous Website. Click meeting locator to find days and times.

Home

And here is the link to your Alcoholics Anonymous Intergroup website, and meeting locator.

ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS CINCINNATI

Im a recovering addict, and i attend meetings of both fellowships.