Notices

New and Overwhelmed

Old 06-21-2008, 11:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New and Overwhelmed

Hi everyone, I am Shawn and I'm an alcoholic. I've had long periods of sobriety over the past 8 years, but just went through about a year and a half where I was a mess.

A couple of years about I did outpatient, which worked great because it was really well structured. I didn't do the AA thing when I was finished and ended up in the same rut.

So I've been going to AA for a month - just a meeting a week. I had a drinking slip last week.

So to my question, when I'm just getting started in AA, I meet all these people who have a lot of sobriety and I don't even know where to start in the meetings. Do I just speak up and spill my guts. Do I try to make friends with these people I don't even know.

In early sobriety there are a lot of insecurities and anxieties that creep in that really affect me in AA. Even this website is overwhelming.

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 06-21-2008, 11:13 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Shawn- I am glad you posted on here. I am also in early sobriety in AA. You need to get a sponsor and start working the steps. My suggestion would be to start attending several meetings a week. Find ones that you like and keep going back there. You will get to know people and they can start sharing with you the things you need to be doing.

I don't know about the AA meetings where you are, but most of the meetings I attend, a some point in the meeting they ask anyone available to be a sponsor to raise their hand. Go up and introduce yourself to one of these people and tell them that you need some direction.

Congratulations on your decision to quit drinking. Stick with it!

Old 06-21-2008, 11:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Smile

Hi Shawn. Welcome. Everyone here is so supportive. Glad you're here.
Old 06-21-2008, 12:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Shawn,

Welcome!