SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   1 Week Today (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/151337-1-week-today.html)

OMAR52908 06-05-2008 06:30 PM

1 Week Today

Hi Everyone:
I'm new to SoberRecovery, and have been sober 1 week today...the longest week of my life. The not drinking isn't as bad as the not sleeping and utter boredom.

OMAR

ThisIsTheDay 06-05-2008 06:35 PM

Welcome OMAR, That's Great.....I am only on day4.... I am with you on the utter boredom. I have been reading and posting, it really helps the urge to drink and past time!

suki44883 06-05-2008 06:37 PM

CONGRATULATIONS!!! Welcome to SR!! :a122:
Are you working any kind of program, Omar? I ask because many here attend AA, not only for the support, but also for the fellowship.

CarolD 06-05-2008 06:38 PM

Glad you found us.....:wave:
Welcome to our community

OMAR52908 06-05-2008 08:01 PM

I've actually attended one SOS (Secular Organizations for Sobriety) meeting, but have been contemplating AA. I'm not quite sure about the "high power" aspect of AA.

least 06-05-2008 08:05 PM

Your Higher Power doesn't have to be God, or any religious figure. It can be the ocean, mother Nature, anything.

Congratulations on your sober time. I am crawling back to sobriety one minute at a time, but am still crawling.

:ghug2

tennis71 06-05-2008 08:53 PM

Welcome and congrats on your sober time. I am going on my longest period of sobriety myself - just over 2 months.