Notices

I think I'm done

Old 05-25-2008, 12:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I think I'm done

Boy, the last 10 days have been very interesting to say the least. I knew deep down that I had a drinking problem, but I wasn't paying any attention to it. I've been a real pro at hiding it, as I hang out with a lot of different groups, and no one suspects a thing. 10 days ago I finished reading "The Chris Farley Show" and it really opened my eyes. It was after that when I found this site and just started reading and it's been very theraputic for me.

I actually drew a few sober breaths this week and was starting to get that whole energy thing again. I felt great and was starting to get very creative at a crucial point in my life. Then last night some guys I occasionally work with called up and invited me out to the bar, under the illusion of doing some work. It caught me at an off moment, and in a flash I was out the door.

Something happened when I woke up this morning. I had the wildest cognition that I'm blowing it, life that is. I was brushing my teeth and all of a sudden I was disgusted with myself. I've gotten flabby, and my face had that awful hangover look. That's when I really started to analyze myself, and I can be pretty hard on myself. The fact is, this isn't what I want for myself. It's a complete waste of time. I work in the arts, and to be a success is a one in a million shot at the best, so why am I wasting my time as a wannabe if I'm not going to give it 100%?? So the bottom line is that I need to replace bad patterns of actions with positive ones. Cheers to this site for being able to help open my eyes. I really appreciate it.
Old 05-25-2008, 12:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It sounds like you have really taken a deep look at yourself. The biggest difference I have noticed physically in the past 30 days is that I have lost the "puffiness" in my face and shed 5 pounds.