Notices

I'm 23 and I want to stop.

Old 05-19-2008, 01:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm 23 and I want to stop.

I know 23 is pretty young to be considered an alcoholic but my drinking has caused me so many problems so far.

I've lost jobs, caused family problems, been arrested for drinking and driving twice, gotten in fights and been convicted of an assault that I dont even remember doing. I black out alot when i drink and its really scary.

I've been drinking very heavily for over 7 years now and I really want to stop but I dont know how.
Old 05-19-2008, 01:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi emex4! Welcome to SR! You will find a lot of information on this site, and a lot of support! There are so many options to help you. You can find an AA meeting where you live, there are treatment options, (inpatient/outpatient), there are other non-12 step recovery groups. I am not an expert, but, there are a ton of people on this site who can give you some different ideas.

This site has so much information, I would suggest that you just keep reading, noodle around here, and you'll start to get some ideas for you. I don't think that there is a one sure way for everyone.

I wouldn't advise "cold turkey", although some have done this and been fine, but, it can be very dangerous. If you go to see your doctor, and be honest with him/her, he could advise you the best. Going into treatment is a good option because they can monitor you (medically) to make sure you are safe while detoxing.

This may not help much, but, stay here with us. It's early in the morning now, and I would bet that many, many hugs and prayers, and support and advise will be coming your way very soon.

Stay here and keep posting.

And, again, WELCOME!!!!:ghug3
Old 05-19-2008, 01:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

This is a good thread for you to start on:
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...need-stop.html