Notices

I want to be sober!

Old 03-02-2008, 07:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I want to be sober!

Hi everyone. I'm new to this. I'm 41 and have been drinking far to much since I was 18. The last 5 years have got really bad for me - I drink two or three bottles of wine everynight and generally can't remember anything in the morning.

I have three teenagers who I know hate my drinking - and avoid being in the room with me in the evenings. When I drink, I change into a different person - spiteful and unkind (not physically, but verbally). Things came to a head last night when my lovely partner of 6 years (we don't live together), rang me this morning to say our relationship is over. Apparently last night (after a couple of bottles of wine) I said awful things and he went home (he hardly drinks at all). After he went I sent a text message to him saying more awful things - I feel so ashamed now, but I do things like that when I'm drunk and I really don't mean it.

I have to stop drinking NOW - before my life and my children's are ruined. Can anyone give any advice on how to stop? Thanks
Old 03-02-2008, 07:41 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome to SR. You may need a medical detox. Alcohol withdrawl is difficult. Do you have a dr who you can be open and honest with?

I go to AA. I find that I need that type of support. I know that I had to have a plan.

Hope this helps. Please keep posting. We are here for you and you are NOT alone.
Old 03-02-2008, 07:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

Hello Jane and welcome to SR.

One way many people find answers and great support is through AA meetings. The only thing required for the meetings would be to show up with a desire to stop drinking.
As you have a look around here at SR, read the posts at the top of the forums that say "sticky" beside them and you will find much info there as well.

Your not alone in this battle and please know it is a battle that can be won.