Notices

I'm new to this!!

Old 03-01-2008, 04:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new to this!!

Hi there everyone, my name is Katey and this is my first post.

I am a 24-year-old alcoholic from the St. Louis, MO area and have been sober since February 18th, 2008. I had been sober for about three months before relapsing in September '07. I'm sort of starting over, and I'm looking for some support outside of AA.

I've only been to one AA meeting, and I gotta be honest, I hated it. There were probably almost forty people there, and it felt like a Bible study, but instead of the Bible, it was the Big Book. Or whatever they call it. The room was smoky and I felt completely out of place (though my guess is that most people feel out of place at their first few meetings).

My therapist tells me I should try going to more meetings; go to a new one every night until I find one I like. I don't know about that. Any comments or suggestions from my fellow alcoholics??

Thanks,

Katey
Old 03-01-2008, 04:29 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Its_me_jen

Hi Katey. Welcome to SR.

You're in the right place. I got sober without AA but I've been to my fair share or meetings. I don't really have a good reason why I didn't use AA .... I think I was too lazy.

Anyway, you'll meet lots of people that can give you some great advice. From what I know, finding the right meeting is key. Also, there are non-smoking meetings if that's a big bother.

Keep posting and keep reading.
Old 03-01-2008, 04:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Anxiety King

Welcome Katey and congrats on the new start!

Yeah, I suggest checking out other meetings, like an Open speaker or a discussion meeting. Those are the ones I go to. Haven't been to a Big Book meeting yet.

I've noticed that each group has a personality of it's own. So if you check out a few, you
might find one you like.
Old 03-01-2008, 05:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
-Samantha