Notices

If I can get through tonight...

Old 02-26-2008, 05:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

If I can get through tonight...

So I've been battling addiction for the past 20+ years. My last period of sobriety lasted 19 days. I've gone through the yo-yo's of success and failure with this disease so many times I have lost count.
Tonight my partner, and my life, of six years discovered that she is yet again missing meds. She habitually counts them because she is now suffering just as much from this disease as I am. She has yo-yo'd through forgiveness to blame over and over again.
I'm too tired and exhausted to continue. I'm physically, emotionally, spiritually drained through and through. Tonight my thoughts are around whether or not I'll be forgiven once again. I should be focused on whether or not I'll stay sober tomorrow. But I'm overwhelmed by all of these feelings.
I am so grateful to have found this site. It has given me somewhere to channel all of this and I've stopped crying from the self-loathing.
It's so easy to feel utterly isolated and alone in this. Esp when my partner sits nearby wondering what the $!#@ is wrong with me and why she can't keep her medication in the house.
Through rambling. Thanks again for just being here...
Old 02-26-2008, 05:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

Oh, I remember so well, wondering desparately, if I would be forgiven again. How I absolutely hated those times. The self-loathing is a killer, literally and I know it kept me from recovering for a long time. Try to step away from it and be kind to yourself.

You have found a good place to visit for support and I hope you keep posting.
Old 02-26-2008, 05:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

you will always be forgiven in2wen...

forgive yourself too...

you can do it!

love, blessings and recovery...

rz
Old 02-26-2008, 05:58 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
not a greeter

Hi and welcome In2Wen . If you stick around I'm sure you'll find some good support, info and hopefully answers.