Notices

Not quitting Cold Turkey

Old 01-26-2008, 05:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not quitting Cold Turkey

Has anyone ever tried to stop drinking by weaning themselves off the booze? I have been drinking for over 20 yrs on a daily basis. I have no health insurance or doctor. I've researched the internet all afternoon and everywhere it says that going cold turkey would be very dangerous. I also smoke cigarettes (especially when drinking). Going to AA meetings is out of the question as not only do I not have a running car right now and I am sole caregiver to my paralyzed husband. Everyone who lives here also smokes and drinks except the husband. I know if I try this it's going to be a real challenge since nobody wants to stop but me. I feel like I'm ready for this because I'm just flat sick and tired of feeling sick. I wake up in the morning gasping for air and not really hung over just a profound feeling of fatigue. I think that even if everyone else keeps doing their thing I can work around that but the cold turkey thing has me scared of winding up in a hospital. I talked to serene earlier in the chat room and she said she weaned herself off alcohol but I should be very very careful. I would sure like to hear of anyone that has done this or anyway that worked for them. I just opened my first beer of usually 6 to 7 beers and only put 5 in the frig. I started getting shaky a few minutes ago as I usually would have my first about 3.5 hours ago. Anyway info at all would be appreciated.

Thanks and Take Care - Bootstomper
Old 01-26-2008, 05:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I will pray for you.....

Welcome and keep coming back.... You will find your peace with this New Step you have just begun....

I stopped drinking Cold Turkey 22 years ago and not sorry I did.

I never cut back slowly like you are doing..... I had no choice and had someone else drive me to meetings as needed......It was worth the effort and no excuse of not being at the meetings.