Notices

I see that sex drive loss is not uncommon!!

Old 11-12-2007, 09:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy I see that sex drive loss is not uncommon!!

I've been clean and sober for over 1 year. I'm a 47yr old male and I even quit smoking . I'm an artist and NEVER had a problem with sexual arousal. Before I got sober,I met the most wonderful woman I could ask for. We've stayed together through the first year and have grown closer. Yet, I have almost no sex drive, very inconsistent. I used to be the aggressor and now I can't seem to initiate. Any thoughts?? I'm healthy and we both enjoy athletic activities>
Old 11-12-2007, 09:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Jeez your 47! Maybe it is a complete coincidence? I turn 46 in a few days and I noticed a definite change in my sex drive around age 42. I don't think this is uncommon at all. Have you seen a Dr?
Old 11-12-2007, 10:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Your lack of sex drive probably has nothing to do with you being sober. It could be many many things, diet, stress, ect. DGILLZ has it right, see a Dr. get some blood tests.
Today marks my 18th year sober..I am 52 and male..sex drive is ok but hey I'm over 50.
It is what it is
Michael
Old 11-14-2007, 05:40 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am a 43 yr old woman and having same problem - no sex drive, when I was using I did not have this problem and I noticed a couple times I relapsed and got drunk and then my sex drive came back so I dont know or maybe it is the meds my psychiatrist has me on - effexor and 2 mood stabilizers/.
Old 11-14-2007, 10:40 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Well....my young friends

It's not necesarily tied into recovery/ addictions

My doctor assured me it was
"a normal part of ageing"
for both genders.

Drat!! She was correct.
Old 11-14-2007, 11:38 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

I guess the best way to phrase it...

My lust drive went away with maturity. My sex drive is still there but reformed.