Notices

Hi yall

Old 10-01-2007, 08:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi yall

Just wanted to introduce myself. This looks like a good group. I am new to the whole concept of "finally admitting that I'm an addict" so bear with me if I seem to be remedial. My problem has been intermittent for a number of years now, and I've finally come to realize that I'll never reach my full potential as a human being if I continue the way I have.

My problem has been with the work I've been doing lately - a personal artistic pursuit that has put me directly in the wrong environment. I won't go into the specifics of that unless yall want to talk more, but I'll just say it involves a lot of going out to clubs and hanging out with musicians who drink like there's no tomorrow. But I also have been known to drink at home alone, and although I find it easier to give that up, sometimes I feel lonely and depressed and that makes it harder to resist the impulse to stop off at the liquor store on my way home from work.

I have had some time to do a bit of introspection lately, and I've had to take a kind of inventory of my life -- the goals I've set, and the reasons for why I have not reached them, and the problems I've exerienced(such as DUI() which can all be traced to drinking in some way or other. Alcohol seems to have stuck its ugly fingers into just about everything in my life. Also, there is the issue of being "enslaved" to anything, which is anathema to me in my personal philosophy. It's got to go.

There is no shame in admitting weakness. There is, in fact, no weakness except in not admitting weakness. I know this, and have always known it, but living up to it is another story. Therefore, I have to fully accept that I have a lifelong vulnerability and therefore I should never drink again.