Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

NA V.S. AA? People with multiple addictions what do you think?

Notices

Old 07-25-2007, 06:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Im Addicted to alcohol and a potpourri of drugs and Im new to the meeting thing. Everynight I have a choice to go to nA or AA and I was wondering if anyone ahs any opinion on which is better or if it really matters since addiction is addiction.

For me I seem to have a harder time letting go of the booze than the drugs. does that mean I should go to AA?
Old 07-25-2007, 08:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

they are both based on spiritual principles of living and growing, on becoming honest, open minded and willing to go to any lengths to live the life you were born to live, to become a purposeful individual and to help others.

dont give too much energy right now into analyzing the distinctions between NA and AA. just go, and go and go....soon you will find where youu feel the most right
Old 07-25-2007, 09:30 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

NA covers all drugs... that includes alcohol.

AA is for the most part for alcohol only.
Same 12 steps, different focus of substance.

Try both and you may find that you like one more then the other.
Old 07-25-2007, 09:54 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Evolving Addict