Notices

Depression After Sports Injury

Old 06-23-2007, 06:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Depression After Sports Injury

Internet Friends:

I am a 20 year old college student who is a rising junior. I am a dedicated engineering student and also an avid athlete. I love playing water polo, but this year I had over trained and caused a common injury. This will require me more than three months to heal, and of those three months, I've gotten through a month and a half. I am extremely depressed by seeing my gains in athleticism dissapate.

I had surgery to correct this injury, and was placed on oxycodone. I have stopped using the oxycodone and have let my shoulder rest. Every once in a while I pop back into the gym to start exercising, only to have my shoulder start hurting again. Now, being six months from surgery, I still occasionally pop an oxycodone or two.

I feel that I am becoming addicted to the oxycodone. It seems that once I take it, I feel happy about myself, and I forget all my past pain (even girl pains).

I feel that I am becoming dependant on this drug. So dependant on it that I will take the pill from my father's drug cabinet even after I have finished my doctor's prescription. I do not crush the drug or anything, I just take the full pill. I realize that oxycodone is lethal if crushed, and I realize it's power

What am I getting myself into?
Old 06-23-2007, 07:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi,

Welcome! It's good that you are recognizing your increasing dependence on the oxycodone. From my understanding, they are very addictive. Is your dr prescribing the oxycodone at this time, because of the pain you are still feeling from the surgery? It might be a good idea to talk to your dr about your concerns and to wean yourself off the meds.