SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Sober for 12 hours. Not feeling good =( (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/123646-sober-12-hours-not-feeling-good.html)

Chim721 05-15-2007 02:58 PM

Sober for 12 hours. Not feeling good =(

Hi, I just decided that waking up to this crazy intense anxiety every morning from drinking 8-20 beers or vodka with the guys is completely not worth it. I've been drinking about 8 beers a night for 2 years then I upped it my senior year in college to large glasses of vodka and soda, so much that I'd black out almost everynight and just pass out in my room. I figured enough was enough so I stopped today. My last drink was around 4 or 5am last night and woke up with insane anxiety and somewhat panicy attacks, but not full out. I don't even think I could go to a Doctor to get an Rx because I'm too anxious to drive a car. Is there anything I can do to make this pass. I went 3 days sober maybe 3 or 4 times but everytime the withdrawal got worse and worse. This being the last time, I'm def done drinking. I even got fired because I'd come into work all hungover and anxious so bad that I'd have to leave a meeting or I'd feel so crappy and anxious I'd go to my car for 2 hours at a time and try to sleep. Another thing, I know I'm not going to be able to go to sleep tonight until maybe 5am. Has anyone went through this before or does anyone have suggestions as what to do. I've been sitting in my basement all day axious and getting paniced over possibly having a panic attack.

Thanks,
Matt

Alive 05-15-2007 03:00 PM

Welcome. I can't sleep either. But with time we will sleep peacefully. Know you came to a very great place of support and wisdom....

Chim721 05-15-2007 03:08 PM