Notices

Didn't make it today....

Old 05-03-2007, 07:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Didn't make it today....

This is my first post, I'm a newbie.
Here's my story. Grew up with two alcoholic parents. My dad was the open drinker and got openly drunk, my mom kept the bottles hidden and got more discreetly drunk. Alcoholism on both sets of grandparent sides. All of us children are alcoholic so God knows if we are going into the 5th, 6th or 10th generation of drinkers, because I sometimes think the drinking has been passed down from generation to generation. Either through some inherited brain problem or just learned behavior.

All of my brothers are heavy drinkers. So am I. So that means that we are all alcoholics. Twins ten years older than me (now in their 60's) and a brother 2 years older than me, mid 50's. One of the twins has had some success with AA and a couple of years of sobriety, but he is clearly the second worst drinker. He has no teeth left.

Probably spent 25 years of his life drinking pure spirits like vodka on a daily basis.

The brother closest to me is the worst drinker. Two weeks ago, he was taken to the VA ER for the 2nd time in the last year for severe alcohol overdose and injuring himself by falling. He has mental illness issues and the mental illness hospital court said if they see him again, he will be committed. They are tired of seeing him at the VA ER and he has these episodes about two times a year. For the last 15 years.

My story is sort of a "lite version" of their's. I never drank like my brothers when I was a young adult. I didn't like "drinking" bars, I liked disco bars. I liked to be active and dance and hated the idea of sitting in a bar and just talking. I had different drinking patterns too. I knew I had "the problem", though. For a decade, I worked "swing shift" at a company, just so I could place an obstacle between myself and alcohol. It kept me away from the clubs and the drinking. Then I got married and my kids kept me busy.