Notices

Fighting yet another fight and am new to this

Old 04-18-2007, 06:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fighting yet another fight and am new to this

I just joined SR and this is my first attempt at reaching out for help. I started with looking up AA meetings in my area and just got completely overwhelmed with the thought of going to a meeting and asking for help.

I have realized that I'm now fighting a new fight. Last year, I was diagnosed with breast cancer and spent a year fighting that (but never went to a support group). During that painful and scary year I became very dependent on drinking to forget, if only for a little while. Now, I'm getting back to a "normal" life but I just can't shake my need for a cocktail, especially when the stresses come. One cocktail turns into many and I spend the next day feeling like I completely blew it, only to wait until 5:00pm when it starts all over again.

I've got to do this for my family, children and my spirit -- I'm just scared to death. Any guidance, words of encouragement? I'm pretty strong but this need to drink is one humdinger.

Does the fear of reaching out for help lessen with time?
Old 04-18-2007, 06:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
believer

You are welcomed here. I wish you peace relating to your health first of all. I can tell you that i found a lot of peace here, and that reaching out is a step to recovery

God bless
Old 04-18-2007, 06:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

This is a great place to come for support and inspiration. I think many of us, me included, have turned to alcohol to get through a really tough time, and then found out we have another big problem. And obviously your health crisis was a difficult one.

And, I was absolutely scared too. I couldn't imagine how to get through any of life's ups and downs without alcohol to carry me. But, you can do it. Each time you get through a situation without drinking, you become stronger.