Notices

I'm quitting today!

Old 04-03-2007, 11:29 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
One Day at a Time

I'm quitting today!

I've been a strong drinker for 8 years now. It ruined my first marriage, ruined a lot of friendships and I'm finally tired of it. I'm tired of starting my day by vomiting and ending it by passing out. I'm missing so much of life I can't take it anymore. I want to live again. I want to get this out of my system.

My question is how long does it take for the physical effects to go away (ie me to start feeling good). Also, Does anyone have advice on how I can be successful at this? I've never tried to quit before as I didn't think I had a problem. Well, now I believe I do and it's time to change!

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-03-2007, 11:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Volly,

Welcome to SR, and congratulations on making this important decision.

I really don't like to give medical-type advice about quitting - it can be quite dangerous depending on your health and how much you drank. I recommend you visit your doctor.

Rowan

Last edited by Rowan; 02-05-2008 at 08:05 AM.
Old 04-03-2007, 11:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Checking with your dr when quitting drinking, is always a good idea.

There are many recovery options and I hope you will also find lots of support and information here:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-programs.html
Old 04-03-2007, 12:14 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
let it grow!

hello volly, and welcome. my daughter is in first year of recovery from alcohol and cocaine addiction. aa/na meetings really help her. blessings, and keep posting! k
Old 04-03-2007, 12:16 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Talking welcome

hi volly gr8t choice to give up drinking i am new here also hope it works out for you it is a struggle but i will not lie its hard and i feel like hammered shi*
this site is helping me so mutch keep posting on progress good and bad its a good way to get things off your chest and receive support from these super people