Notices

AA resentment

Old 03-21-2007, 01:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

AA resentment

My history with AA has been chequered to say the least. Although I am a great believer in all of the AA principals and a greatfull attending member of the fellowship, I managed to build up a resentment with a member of my home group. The story starts some 2 years ago when I was struggling to come to terms with not only my disease of alcoholism, but also trying to get to grips with the ethos of AA. At the time I had been attending meetings nightly for about 2 months, I hadn't stopped drinking but had heard in the rooms that if I kept going then eventualy I would get the message and as long as I had the desire to stop then that was the only requirement to attend.
One Sunday night at a meeting that I had attended regualy a member with some years of sobriety challenged me about the fact that I smelt of alcohol something that I could not deny, I had drunk on the way to the meeting but was in no way incapable of cunducting myself in an orderly fashion. His comments even contained some expletives that realy should not have been used within a church hall or by somebody reaching out the hand of AA to a fellow suffering alcoholic.
I stayed for the meeting but left with some trepidation about returning. I actualy drank for the next few days using that reason for my drinking, but I decided to carry on going to meetings elsewhere which was fine for a while.
Then the resentment that I had built around this member started me to doubt my future within the fellowship, I knew I wanted to stop, I knew that AA was the way to go about stopping and stay stopped. Then one night at my home group this member was there, he had started to sponsor somebody within the group, well I knew then that it would only cause me further problems with him there so stopped attending my home group.