Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

I'm an experienced Newbie What do you think of this speaking engagement?

Notices

Old 03-21-2007, 08:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi and best wishes,

I've been an alcoholic for more than 25 years. In pursuing what "works" for me, I found that it's nothing specific, but rather a combination. This afternoon, I've been invited to speak with grad students studying addiction prevention at a University. This came totally out of the blue and I'm clueless what to say, but it's been suggested that I just talk about my "recovery". So I'm looking for opinions. Sorry for the long post, but here goes:

Please read this as if I were talking since that is what I’m doing in writing this. Other than to write these italicized sentences and spell check, nothing has been edited. It’s just as if I were talking.

So I'm sitting in a sushi bar with my wife and next thing you know, we're talking with the couple next to us. And as guys tend to do, we ended up talking about what we do for a living. When XXX told me about this program here at XXX, I volunteered the words everybody recognizes "I'm a recovering alcoholic". They aren't necessarily words that I would choose if the world were different, but they are words that everyone recognizes.

The AA model has become a universal platform; hypocritically, ironically, as an icon, everything. I mean look at TV ads for example. Vegas promotes' gambling and what all, by using the AA meeting coined words "what happens here, stays here". Hello!?!