Notices

Confusion

Old 03-08-2007, 07:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Confusion

I'm so scared that I don't even know what to say. Just the thought of posting has me about to start crying. I've been in love with a drunk/addict for over twenty years and let me tell you I'm a very sick cookie. I recently asked him to leave for the good of my kids and myself, because he was becoming violent and just plain stupid again. The problem is I can't function without him (or at least I don't think I can). I'm finishing a bachelors degree soon and would love to run away, but part of me knows that I can't stay away from him. My drunk is my addiction and I don't know how to recover from him or even if I should. Am I co-dependant? I'm sure I am, but I'm a full time college student and mother and live in a small town and my kids are already alone too much now that their Dads gone, so I can't drive to a meeting, or even probably find one near here I can make it to on a regular basis. Plus, it scares me because I've tried it before and I replaced my addiction with an addiction for meetings and met a lot more loser guys there and screwed my life up worse than it was already. Any suggestions? Or should I just give up and give in to y incredibly screwed up life and the fact that I will never be successful?
Old 03-08-2007, 07:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
'55 Classic

Welcome to SR. There is a forum here that I think can really help you. Click on the Friends and Families of Alcoholics board and I bet you will get more support than you ever thought possible. Don't give up... Help is on the way!
Old 03-08-2007, 07:11 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!
Welcome, I'm so glad you're posting here. You're going to find that there are many people here with stories very similar to yours, so you're not alone. More help will be along soon.