Notices

Moderation??

Old 02-18-2007, 12:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Moderation??

I'm new to this and admittedly (obviously) still coming to terms with what it might really mean to have an "addiction."

Does everyone here believe that quitting altogether is the only answer? Is it possible to learn to "use" alcohol (my substance of choice) in a more healty and moderate fashion?

I accept that I have all the hallmarks of an addictive personality. But does anyone believe that it might be possible to learn to enjoy one or two glasses of wine/cocktails like a "normal" person? I have a lot of trouble accepting what this is going to do to my social life if I can't drink anymore ever. I have a lot of anxieties about "boring-ness" (which I've heard other people express here too). And I do love the pretty, aesthetic pleasure of a drink - when I can stop it from getting out of hand (this is where I have trouble).

Does it have to be all or nothing???

fastrabbit!!!
Old 02-18-2007, 12:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

See this thread

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...failed-me.html

Edit: Welcome !!!!

Last edited by GlassPrisoner; 02-18-2007 at 12:41 PM. Reason: Forgot to welcome the newcomer
Old 02-18-2007, 12:51 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think it's simple. If you're an alcoholic moderation will never work. If you're not, it should work fine. Try stopping drinking completely for a period such a three months and see what happens. If you're not an alcoholic, you should no problem doing this, and moderation will probably work just fine for you.

I should also add that I felt exactly the same loss as you feel. One of my favourite books is "Drinking: A Love Story" by Caroline Knapp. It expresses the feelings of losing a lover when stopping drinking.
Old 02-18-2007, 12:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Wink

Hey Fast,