SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Hello (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/115488-hello.html)

celebris 02-12-2007 07:13 AM

Hello

I am new to sobrity. I haven't had any really good long term sobrity for about 12 years. That old saying that I will have just one (HA! Yea right) one is to many and a thousand is not enough!!! Anyway I am glad to be back! The cravings in my head have not stopped. It drives me crazy but I guess this will pass. Anyway I would like to know how others got over the cravings that they had/have. I really enjoy this site. Glad to be here.

Midas 02-12-2007 07:28 AM

Welcome Aboard, Celebris! We're glad you're here. And, welcome back. :grouphug:

Hivemind 02-12-2007 07:30 AM

Hey, welcome!!

Get busy doing stuff, get distracted....go for it

parentrecovers 02-12-2007 07:31 AM

welcome, celebris - nice to meet you! are you going to aa or getting any other support? stay busy, and keep it simple. recovery is possible. blessings, k

CarolD 02-12-2007 07:33 AM

Welcome back!

In early recovery . I timed my cravings.
Mine were 5/7 minutes in duration.
I can overcome most things for that short time!

I took action during that space.
Brushing my teeth... Eating a Lifesaver..
Drinking water or juice.. Walking

I also prayed for help when they happened.

The longer I stayed sober
they lessened in both frequency and intensity.

Keep going forward... Blessings

Midas 02-12-2007 07:54 AM

Originally Posted by celebris (Post 1207751)
It drives me crazy but I guess this will pass. Anyway I would like to know how others got over the cravings that they had/have. I really enjoy this site. Glad to be here.