Notices

What should I expect?

Old 01-06-2007, 01:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy What should I expect?

Hi!
This is my first step to change my life around.
I am a 41 year old alcoholic and heavy smoker. I have been drinking heavvily now for 10-15 years. I drink about a half bottle of 40% alcohol every night somtimes as much as a whole bottle. I have all the classic signs in the day time like the shakes, diareah, and high blood-preassure. It started by me touring extensivly with various Rock bands of international caliber as a drummer. Too many parties etc. you get the picture. Never did any drugs though, just alcohol. I am now married with 3 wonderful kids and a beutiful wife, still my behavior is just escalating. I have retirerd from show business, and have come to a place in my life where I will be able to take some time of starting Wednesday Jan. 10. I have decided to stay in bed for a couple of days to sweat it out cold turkey and hopefully get it out of my system. Any help with what I should expect during these days and nights would be very helpful! Thanks so much!
Sincerely,
Backbeater
Old 01-06-2007, 01:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

You really should talk to your dr before stopping alcohol because detoxing from alcohol can be very dangerous.

This is a thread that will give you lots of information, in our own words, what it was like to quit:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...at-expect.html
Old 01-06-2007, 02:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
everything is already ok

Hi Backbeater,

Welcome to SR and as Anna says get all the help and advice you can. Keep posting and reading there is loads of great info and loving support here from your peers.

Kevin
Old 01-06-2007, 03:01 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Hi and welcome to SR!!

I think because of the ammount and the years of
drinking...you really would be wise to see a doctor.

Being safe is just smart thinking.