Notices

Newbie to this site, and to recovery...

Old 09-25-2006, 01:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile Newbie to this site, and to recovery...

Hello everyone! My name is Mike, and I am fairly new to recovery. I am an alcoholic and a drug addict, and have been sober since 09/21/2006. It would have been since 03/23/2006, but I did end up relapsing, drinking, on the night before the 21st of this month. Before that, I went through a place called 'Nova Treatment Center', in Oshkosh, WI for a 28 inpaitient program and found it very helpful. Then after I completed that program, they recommended me to a half-way house in Appleton, where I live, and I stayed there for about 1 1/2 months. Once that was completed, I moved back home, with my mom, and was doing well. I held a job, eventually moved out, about a month later with my girlfriend who is pregnant. We got a fairly nice 2 bedroom duplex on the north side of the city, and I was doing great...for a while. Then I started realizing that there was no way I could afford to live there, with all the bills I have from my past using days; bad checks totaling about $5,000, fines, etc... The bill collectors kept calling, and I kept telling them the same thing, I barely make enough money to pay rent, and buy food, much less be able to pay you back! So I ended up getting very nervous about the future legal pendings my past actions would have if I did not start paying these people back, so I moved back to my moms house after only one month on my own. After about 2 days of living at my moms, I got a call from a local job placement service that I had gone to a few days earlier, about a potential job making twice what I was making now. So I quit my current job and went in for the orientation. About 1/2 way through, I noticed it was for a CDL lisenced person, and I don't have my CDL. So I told the person that, and she said sorry for the inconvienience and that I must have checked the wrong box on my application indicating I had a CDL. So I