Notices

New

Old 09-05-2006, 11:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New

Hi my names Jim this is my first time online, discussing my addiction.
I am not to good at meetings in person I guess I have a fear of being judged.
Well hello everyone.
Old 09-05-2006, 11:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Hi Jim and Welcome to SR!

Old 09-05-2006, 11:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm 44 years old. married 4 kids and a cocaine addict
I have been sober about a week. I dont keep track much anymore
I just want to stop using. I hate it, but I seem to continue. This has been going on for 20 years, some periods of time worse than others.
The high I get is nothing compared to the feelings of despair that come now with each use. I hate meetings, yet I feel i need them or at least need to be in touch with people that are working some sort of spiritual program.
I want to stay clean. I never stop trying.
Old 09-05-2006, 11:21 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Here is a good place to start reading..

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/substance-abuse/

Take care...
Old 09-06-2006, 12:10 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Trying to do the right thing.

Well Hello Jim,...! Welcome to SR ...Im glad you found SR as its a wounderful place full of helpful, open people trying and sucsseding in Recovery...!

Old 09-06-2006, 12:35 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Hi Jim,
There are many great people here who can help.
Couldn't have said it better myself about being judged.
Welcome!
Old 09-06-2006, 08:23 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Belgian Sheepdog Adictee

Welcome Jim.

I understand your fear of being judged. Let me share my experience of my first few meetings, althought a long time ago now, something I will never forget.