Notices

Step 9

Old 12-08-2007, 09:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Arrow Step 9

9. We made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.
Old 01-06-2009, 09:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
sober and respecting it

also what does this mean. im new to the 12 steps. i have been sober for almost 2 years and i never been to a meeting. both me and my husband are sober, he has been sober almost 2 months longer then i. but he has been to meetings. we talk and educate each other on our recovery. thank god we have each other
Old 01-06-2009, 06:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Evolving Addict

Hi Shellgirl, Welcome to SR

So you want to know what the 9th step is all about, eh? Well...I could go into a long, drawn-out rendition of my understanding of this step, but since you're new to the 12 steps my 1st suggestion would be that you start attending meetings, join a home group, get an NA Basic Text and get a sponsor to guide you through the steps (starting with Step 1). The steps are written in a specific order for a reason, and to fully understand what step 9 is about it's important to have experience with the previous 8.

Here's a couple of hints: [1] Freedom from guilt & [2] Damage repair.

Whatever you decide...good luck.
Old 02-21-2009, 11:06 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Disposable Hero

i am currently working on this step and i'm finding a deeper awareness that this way of life requires all of me to live. No reservations. i had thought that making amends would be something only necessary for this phase of my recovery. Silly me!! The more i open myself up to this step, the more i realize that making amends is an ongoing process. It's not a once and done thing. i look at the similarities of a repair man who undertakes the job of restoring an old house that has been neglected for a long period of time and the process God is working with me on to rebuild my character. A MENDING. How simple.
Old 03-09-2009, 08:38 PM
  # 5 (permalink)