Notices

Grateful .... Also New To This Forum!

Old 05-12-2020, 05:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Taking it one day at a time

Talking Grateful .... Also New To This Forum!

Hello, I'm new to this particular site/forum. I have fifteen months clean from crystal meth and am definitely grateful about that. Heading into the later spring and summer months I am also grateful that city life has slowed down ... I found the hustle and bustle of the city very difficult last year, and although the Covid-19 situation wasn't my expected 'answer to prayer' for some respite from that hustle and bustle, it has turned into that. The streets are noticeably quieter. I actually feel a lot safer to walk around near where I live. There are several nice parks and I don't feel a draw to walk to the area of town where I lived over ten years ago and was in early days of recovery then. (That area requires going thru what is usually the busiest sections of town via bus, driving, walking or biking, to that section of town). So yea, I'm feeling more stable in recovery nowadays, which is good.

In some ways I have been suited for covid-19 related life. I tend to stay home fairly easily and I enjoy interacting online already (as an introvert). So I was already interacting online a lot before this all went down. So in some ways my life hasn't changed tons ... that said, now that we're encouraged to stay home lots I definitely have felt the need to get out of the house at times for my mental health.

Where I live they are slowly lifting restrictions. I feel grateful to live in an area that is dealing fairly well with the covid-19 situation; our numbers have plateaued here and are on the decrease. It is encouraging and something to be grateful for as well.