Notices

One of the single most things I'm grateful for

Old 07-12-2013, 12:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

One of the single most things I'm grateful for

I'm new to recovery but I'd just like to share something. On June 5th of this year, I attempted to sell my second car for drug money, I was living with my now ex fiance at her sister's house after running all of my resources dry. I prayed for over 6 months for something to intervene, I could not live the life I was living anymore. I was living two lives, one was a family man engaged to a beautiful mother of 4, ready (or so I thought) to take on all of the responsibilities of such a commitment. The other life, was pure hell. I lived for my next fix and hid it from everyone I knew. My family, my then fiance, all of my non using friends, had absolutely no idea what was going on, they just saw a personality change. Rehab was always, in my mind, no option at all. I knew I was an addict and still couldn't admit it to myself, let alone my family. So, on June 5th, I had arrangements made with someone from the internet that had viewed my car for sale, he wanted to meet and take a look and likely purchase the vehicle. I was out of money, and out of drugs, and sickness was creeping up quickly. The guy met up with me late in the afternoon, we talked for about 5 minutes and he backed out of buying the vehicle. Everything already had pretty much imploded at this point, but after he didn't purchase my car, I had a meltdown. Dozens of scenarios went through my head on how I would get money for my next fix. After driving for about 10 minutes after not selling the car, I pulled over and thought for what seemed like an hour but it was probably like 10 minutes, my mother called to ask if I had any luck selling the car, I said no and she sensed by the panic in my voice that something wasn't right, she began asking questions, telling me to calm down because to her knowledge I still had a couple thousand in the bank, I said it was all gone