Newbie Needs Advice - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information
Go Back   SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information >
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2017, 06:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Newbie Needs Advice

Hello all this is my first time posting anything on this site. I am really needing people who understand and are going through similar situations. My girlfriend nearly died from alcohol abuse. She was in liver and kidney failure, and then dialysis. She then recovered and was sober for about 15 months. In that time her body healed so much she was able to stop dialysis. We have been so happy and then in Jan of this year she started drinking again. On the weekend when I'm home she's sober but when I go to work she drinks. She gets mad when I ask her to go to AA meetings, and when she is drunk she can break my heart with her words. But I love her and I know this is not her. Should I not ask her to go to meetings? How should i handle it when I come home and she is drunk? It breaks my heart, I am tired and stressed, trying to provide for my family and manage her and my daughter's mental health issues. Can anyone relate? I really need help!
Brady79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Brady79 For This Useful Post:
ChloeRose63 (05-18-2017), mecanix (04-18-2017), PhoenixJ (04-18-2017), readerbaby71 (04-22-2017)
Old 04-18-2017, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
That bell or bike person

Hey Brady,
I'm sorry about your girlfriend, she sounds very unwell .

Sounds like you might need the support face to face with others coping with this kind of thing , a lot of people here suggest al-anon its for families and people effected by alcoholism .

you'll also find support in the friends and family area here at SR :-

Friends and Family of Alcoholics - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

and also the newcomers area :-